“I’M HUNGRY!” (DIET AND NUTRITION)

Athletes are always hungry!

Since I became a competitive athlete (around age 14), I learned from my parents (who were once high level athletes) as well as from my coaches that my body should be viewed as a “luxury car”. They explained to me how food acts as the “fuel” for this luxury vehicle and gives me the energy to do everything I need to do and to do it well. If I put bad fuel into my car, it won’t run very nicely and won’t perform to its peak ability. This means that if I don’t fuel my body with nutritious food choices, my muscles, energy levels and my mental state will slowly break down, just as a luxury car would with regular gas in the tank.

Here at the University of Florida, student-athletes are given premium fuel so that we can always perform at our best. Did you know that each team has a nutritionist that focuses on how different types of athletes can meet their needs while teaching us how to fuel our bodies correctly?

The Track and Field team’s nutritionist, Liz Fox, meets with athletes individually before competition season and discusses a personalized fueling plan for each to follow in preparation for track meets. The fueling plan includes what to eat, when to eat it and portion sizes to optimize performance. In addition, she checks in with her athletes regularly (at least once a month) to make sure that they are eating well, taking proper supplements and feeling as good as possible.

“I am not the food police, but my job is to teach athletes how to make healthier choices so that they can always be at their best,” said Fox.

A secret you may not be aware of is the student-athlete dining hall called “Training Table” or “TT”. Athletes who are approved by their coaches have the privilege of eating in this exclusive dining hall. This dining hall offers healthier choices as well as gourmet food from Monday to Thursday. Some options provided at training table include: whole wheat pasta, skim milk, frozen yogurt, smoothies, lean meat, seafood, yogurt-based salad dressings and my personal favorites; Wednesday night sushi and jumbo steamed crab legs!

A glimpse into Gator nutrition

Gator Training Table

 

Steamed crab legs for dinner and crepes for dessert at training table. Yum!

Leave a comment